• The band was formed in the early ’90s but it was only in 1997 that  Crac! released his first CD ‘ MóBRABA’, for  winning the Award ‘Copene Culture and Arts’, one of the most important of Bahia. Its last line-up  had Nancy Viegas (voice) , Andre Borges (sax, flute, vocals and microtones), Julio Moreno (guitar and loops)’ Nego T. (bass and microtones) and Duda Machado (drums).This lasted for three years, till the end of its activities in 2001. But during the 10 years of existence, the band went through different styles and line-ups, always highlighting musical ingredients such as atonal and microtonalism, punk, jazz and Brazilian music.
  • Former musicians: Neio Mustafa (bass), Paulo Farias (guitar), Pedro Semanovischi (guitar), Mauro Rodrigues (drums), Tamima Brazil (drums), Edbráss Ferreira (vocals, microtons and effects), Juninho ‘Junix’ Costa (guitar), Betinho Barreto (guitar), Everaldo Aguia (percussion), Peu Meurray (percussion), Andre Yogi (drums), Krishna Miranda (guitar) Ramon Casais (Percussao), Emerson (percussao), Careca (percussao), Duda Machado (Bateria), Benedict Leb (trumpete).

Crac! has Influenced contemporary musicians and rock bands in Bahia for the last decade. The band performed in a memorable program Prima Materia / TV Cultura, 1991. They also were finalists in the “Canta Nordeste Festival”, TV Globo / Northeast, in 1993 . During its 10 years of life, the band participated in several prestigious projects such as ‘Salvador in July’, 1995 and the “Northeast, SESC Pompeii” / SP, 1998 ; it started researching the work of Composer Walter Smetak in 1991, which was carried out through the entire period in which the band was on active duty. The album MóBRABA  was  produced by Crac!  and Bocha  Caballero/ recorded, mixed and mastered by Jeti Corletto and pre-produced by Andre Tavares, Julio Moreno and Nancy Viégas.

  •  Salvador is a Brazilian town that´s known by its famous carnival and beautiful beaches. The colours of folklore and poverty live side by side around the urbanspace. Curious instruments, comics, rock´n´roll –  Crazy guys playing some crazy music. This is móBRABA, the first CRaC!’s album that was successful released. It results from the most important art/culture award in Bahia, the ”Prêmio Copene de Cultura e Arte”, won by us in 1997.
  •  At the beginning of the 90′sin Salvador, some guys were gathered around an eccentric name and proposal. Despite the tropical and gay atmosphere of Salvador, the CRaC! members were attracted by weird noises. Something like John Cage, Dead Kennedys, Arrigo Barnabé, Tom Zé, Os Mutantes, Black Sabbath, Frank Zappa, Hermeto Pascoal and John Zorn’s sounds. Because of such particular interests and attractions, they decided to investigate Smetak’s sounds. Smetak was an important swiss musician that moved to Bahia in the 70s and had influenced the Tropicalia movement as well as another brazilian expresions with his curious instruments. in 93, CRaC! was pointed as ”revelation band” when ”Formigueiro”, an experimental samba-like song was finalist in another important regional music festival – the Canta Nordeste, from Globo TV. At those performances, they presented for the first time their own ”cretino instruments”, wind instruments made by pvc tubes, rubber pipes and plastic trash inpired on Smetak’s inventions.
  •  Listening MóBRABA gives you a sensation of reading comics. alternatives, hardcore, hip hop metal, pop music and regional influences appeared with a newshape re-created by the group’s accent. The result is revealed by the microtones’ distribution through the sound space and by the relationship between the plans of the voices and instruments. ‘Na Sopa’, the videoclip, was on brazilian mtv in 1998, when the band played at the project ”Nordestes” –  important cultural event in Sao Paulo –  representing Bahia State. MóBRABA is an album of our time, when everything is disposable, (including us). it’s, no doubt, at the time of it’s release, it was one of the most expected brazilian underground’s albums. We hope you still like it!

  Nancy, Neio, Pedrinho, Andre, Edbrass, Rogerio   Mauro, Krishna, Neio, Andre e Nancy                  Tiago, Andre, Nancy, Duda, Julio    



The album MóBRABA is performed by Nancy Víégas – vocal, Julio Moreno – guitars, Andre Borges – sax, microtones, vocals, Guimo Migoya – drums, Magno Vito – bass

Bellow, you can see the CD cover and you can listen to most tracks

01 Pesadelo    02 Canguru     03 Na sopa    04 Sonhos Lerdos

05 Quem é Doido-Ponte Duvidosa    07 comandante da nasa

08 Mulé Véia    06 Daquele Cigarro

  • Watch the video clip of Na Sopa on youtube:

Crac! on Myspace

Lost Memories :

Here, you are going to find some of the rarest recordings of the Band. Some are studio recordings and others, from live concerts. Most recordings were recently converted into digital for the first time. Some of these files were originally recorded already 20 years ago.

Have fun!

LIVE in Studio

Crack! (92/93) – Produced by Paulo Barnabe & Crac! and recorded at the WR studios in Salvador, this was supposed to pe released as a LP but was never finished. The cartoon-based art of the album was created by Fabio Abreu.





9-Resto de Carinho

Band members: Nancy Viegas, Andre Borges, Neio Mustafa, Andre Yogi, Edbrass Brasil, Pedro  Semanovischi/ Participacao de Paulo Barnabe(percussao) em ‘Phebo’

Crac! (94)- Recorded live at the WR studios in Salvador. We had a few studio hours to play and record our set list. A few samples can now be listened to.


04- Dirce me Disse

05- Baiao

07- Mule Veia

Band members: Nancy Viegas, Andre Borges, Neio Mustafa, Mauro Rodrigues, Pedro  Semanovischi, Everaldo Aguia and Ramon Casais.


01 Frutas Bichos Bairros

(produced and mixed By Wesley Rangel(WR studios), Frutas, Bichos, Bairros is composed by Tuze de Abreu. On this particular recording, There are only a few of us recording.

Crac! (95) – Recorded live at WR studios. Band Members: Nancy Viegas, Andre Borges, Neio Mustafa, Tamima Brasil, Beto Barreto, Everaldo Aguia and Ramon Casais and Benedict Leb.

01- Licor de limao        02- Patinete        08- Mule Veia       09- Dona Fulana

(Patinete is composed by Ary Gil and Carlinhos Brown)

Manamaniminimo  (recorded at Tapwin studios – Salvador


Crac! (96) – Demo tape Recorded at WR studios – Salvador. Band Members: Nancy Viegas, Andre Borges, Neio Mustafa, Tamyma Brasil, Julio Moreno, Everaldo Aguia, Ramon Casais and Careca.

01- Dona Fulana        02- Manamaniminimo         04 -Baiao        06 -Canguru


LIVE on Stage

(coming soon)